Main menu


Egypt's rival Algeria will participate in the Arab Cup 2021, with the local team

Algerian press reports revealed that the Algerian national team will participate in the Arab Cup 2021, next December, with the local team, not the first team.

The Algerian newspaper Al-Shorouk confirmed that the Algerian national team, which was drawn in the fourth group with the Egyptian team, the winner of the Libya and Sudan match, and the winner of the Lebanon-Djibouti match.

The newspaper stated that Majid Bougherra, the technical director of the local team, will include some professional players in the Arab leagues for the team participating in the tournament, most notably, Baghdad Bounajah Al-Sadd Al-Qatari, Youssef Blayli, Qatar Club, Rais Mbulahi Al-Ettifaq Al-Saudi, Ezz Al-Din Dukha, the Saudi Major, Mahdi Obaid Al-Nasr of the United Arab Emirates, Sufian Hanni Al-Gharafa of Qatar and Yassin Brahimi Al-Rayyan Al-Qatari. Adlan Qadiora Al-Gharafa Al-Qatari, and others.

Al-Shorouk added that it is not possible to participate in the Desert Warriors, because the tournament is organized on a date not included in the FIFA agenda, and therefore the major European clubs do not allow the exemption of their players, the most prominent of which is winger Riyad Mahrez in the Manchester City team.

The Algerian newspaper added that Qatar will make this tournament a final glimpse of the World Cup in this Gulf country between November and December 2022, after FIFA canceled an earlier date of the Confederations Cup competition.

Ahmed Mujahid, president of the Egyptian Football Association, had said that the Pharaohs would play the tournament with the main team except for professional players, which is supervised by FIFA from November 30 to December 18 of this year in Qatar.

The Arab Cup will be held around the same period as the 2022 World Cup, which will provide an opportunity for the World Cup organizers to test Qatar's readiness for the first World Cup to be held in the Middle East.

The tournament draw resulted in the distribution of the 16 teams participating in the tournament’s finals into 4 groups, as follows:

The first group: Qatar - Iraq - Oman or Somalia - Bahrain or Kuwait.

The second group: Tunisia - UAE - Syria - Mauritania or Yemen.

Group C: Morocco - Saudi Arabia - Jordan or South Sudan - Palestine or the Comoros Islands.

Group D: Algeria - Egypt - Lebanon or Djibouti - Libya or Sudan.